Solano Democrats Announce Endorsements

2020 General Election Endorsements Announced

--For Immediate Release--
September 3, 2020

The Solano County Democratic Central Committee (SCDCC) has formally endorsed candidates and ballot measures across the county in a wide range of races.

Over 40 candidates were invited to attend a Special Central Committee Endorsement meeting held on August 22, 2020, with 29 of the 35 committee members attending with the public watching via a livestream to the committee’s YouTube channel.  Endorsement of Ballot Measures were considered at the committee’s regular monthly meeting on August 26th.

“The 2020 Solano Democratic Endorsement Day was inspirational,” said Marjorie Olson, SCDCC Chair. “It was exhilarating to have so many qualified local Democrats step forward for elected office and come so that almost the entire committee could get to know them.”

At the Special Central Committee Meeting on August 22nd, candidates were asked questions about their responses to questionnaires and support for a number of topics and propositions and ballot measures coming before Solano County Voters.  The completed candidate questionnaires and video of the meeting are available for public viewing on the committee’s website at

Candidates that won endorsement by the Central Committee are as follows (More Info and Photos on our Endorsement Page)




Trustee, Solano Community College  (District 5)

Quinten Voyce

Trustee, Solano Community College  (District 7)

Catherine Frost

Trustee, Solano Board of Education  (District 2)

Bonnie Hamilton

Mayor, City of Benicia

Steve Young

Councilmember, Benicia City Council  (Full Term)

Terry Alan Scott

Councilmember, Dixon City Council  (District 4)

Jerry Castanon Sr.

Councilmember, Fairfield City Council  (District 2)

Raymond Courtemanche

Councilmember, Fairfield City Council  (District 4)

Rick Vaccaro

Councilmember, Fairfield City Council  (District 5)

Doriss Panduro

Trustee, Fairfield Suisun USD  (District 6)

Ana Petero

Trustee, Travis USD  (District 2)

Christina M. Palmer

Mayor, City of Rio Vista

Emily Gollinger

Councilmember, Suisun City Council  (Full Term)

Alma Hernandez

Councilmember, Vacaville City Council  (District 3)

Michael Silva

Councilmember, Vacaviile City Council  (District 5)

Jason C Roberts

Councilmember, Vacaville City Council  (District 6)

Jeanette Wylie

Trustee, Vacaville USD  (District 6)

Kelly Welsh

Trustee, Vacaville USD  (District 7)

Michael Kitzes

Mayor, City of Vallejo

Hakeem Brown

Councilmember, Vallejo City Council  (District 1)

Rozzana Verder-Aliga

Councilmember, Vallejo City Council  (District 3)

Guillermina Diaz

Councilmember, Vallejo City Council  (District 6)

Pat Hunter

Trustee, Vallejo USD  (District 2)

Christy Gardner

Trustee, Vallejo USD  (District 4)

Dr. Latyna Young


For Solano County Ballot Measures, the Committee voted to support the following:

Ballot Measure

Committee Decision

Measure C - Resolution - City of Fairfield
Ballot Measure Regarding A Cannabis Business Tax


Measure D - Resolution - City of Benicia
Advisory Vote To Allow Additional Cannabis Businesses In The City Of Benicia.


Measure G - Resolution - City of Vallejo
The Vallejo Sales Tax Measure

Not Endorsed

Measure J - River Delta USD SFID-01
School Bonds For Facility Upgrades With Citizen Oversight


Measure K - River Delta USD SFID-02
School Facilities Improvement District No. 2, River Delta Unified School District – School Bond Measure


Measure O - Resolution - City of Rio Vista
Sales Tax of .75 cents for Rio Vista for general fund

Not Endorsed

Measure Q - City of Suisun City
Resolution To Change Term Of Office For Mayor And City Council

Not Endorsed

Measure R - City of Suisun City
Resolution To Change The City Clerk To An Appointed Position

Not Endorsed

Measure S - Resolution - City of Dixon
Repeal The City Of Dixon's Current Water Rates As Sufficient, And Submitting The Initiative For The Next General Municipal Election

Not Endorsed

Measure T - Resolution - City of Dixon
Vote To Require That The Office Of The City Clerk Be An Elected Position

Not Endorsed

Measure V - City of Vacaville
Cannabis Business Tax Ordinance


Measure W - Winters Joint USD Bond Measure
Winters Joint Unified School District issue $19,000,000 of bonds, raising on average $1,000,000 annually as long as bonds are outstanding at a rate of 4.9 cents per $100 of assessed valuation



Solano County Democrats invite all Democrats to review this list of endorsements and vote accordingly.  Further, the committee wants to thank all the democratic candidates that appeared before us for endorsement consideration.

Do you like this post?

Showing 2 reactions

published this page in Press 2020-10-01 16:16:10 -0700
@ tweeted this page. 2020-10-01 16:15:53 -0700